PM Pride.

Canada. Our home and native land, the true north strong and free. My home.

I love my country, and am damn proud to live here. I am proud to live in a country where same-sex marriage has been legal nationwide for over a decade; a country where our government promises to do more to protect trans rights, not limit them; and a country where our Prime Minister loves to make history.

I’ve posted already about how Canada is not perfect, but I have to say, our country is doing a lot of things right. It was announced back in February that Justin Trudeau would be the first sitting Prime Minister to march in Toronto’s pride parade. He has since also become the first sitting PM to march in pride parades in Vancouver and Montreal as well.

And you know what the absolute best part is? He just looks so happy doing so! And it warms my heart.

Here are a few pics of our badass PM at various pride parades:

(Chris Young/Canadian Press)

(Chris Young/Canadian Press)

(John Lehmann/The Globe and Mail)

(John Lehmann/The Globe and Mail)

(Mark Blinch/Canadian Press)

Like, seriously? Could this be any more awesome?

And I know, some people will argue that a straight white man marching in a pride parade shouldn’t be a symbol of acceptance of the LGBT+ community. But you know what, I disagree.

To me, the fact that our Prime Minister (AKA THE FREAKING LEADER OF OUR COUNTRY) not only accepts but also embraces the LGBT+ community and is proud and happy to make history to show us this means the world to me. It shows that we have come a long way.

You go, Justin. Keep making us proud. And thank you.

Leave a Reply

