2016 Top Ten: #2, Drag Teen

02dtWow, I can’t believe we’re so close to the end of my Top Ten for 2016!

So far this list has included a lot of great books! But the final two were chosen, not only because they’re great books, but because of my immense connection to them (more on that in a bit).

Coming in at Number 2 is Jeffery Self’s Drag Teen!

Here’s the blurb for this awesome book:

JT feels like his life’s hit a dead end. It looks like he’ll always be stuck in Florida. His parents are anti-supportive. And his boyfriend, Seth, seems to be moving toward a bright future a long way from home.

Scholarship money is nonexistent. After-school work will only get JT so far. There’s only one shot for him — to become the next Miss Drag Teen in New York City.

The problem with that? Well, the only other time JT tried drag (at a school talent show), he was booed off the stage. And it’s not exactly an easy drive from Florida to New York.

But JT isn’t going to give up. He, Seth, and their friend Heather are going to drag race up north so JT can capture the crown, no matter how many feisty foes he has to face. Because when your future is on the line, you have to be in it to win it, one fraught and fabulous step at a time.

Okay, so like I said, I really related to this book and that’s a big part of why I’ve chosen it to be #2 on this list.

But first, full disclosure: I have never watched RuPaul, I’ve never been in drag myself, I don’t go to drag shows or anything like that. It’s just not my thing. But also, I am definitely not brave enough. And I have no problem admitting that.

JT, on the other hand–he is brave. He decides he’s going to take off on a road trip and enter a drag contest to try and win a scholarship. Joining him on this adventure are JT’s friend, Heather, and boyfriend, Seth. I really related a lot to JT and Heather especially. Both struggle with their body image, something I have also struggled with for pretty much my whole life. I used to have absolutely zero self-confidence a lot of the time, and while I think I’ve gotten better in the last year or so, I’m still a long way from being brave like JT, who enters this drag race despite the lack of confidence he has for himself.

But also, I really related to JT on another level too: he feels like his boyfriend, Seth is almost too perfect and is constantly wondering when Seth will realize he can do better. I tend to avoid dating and relationships like the plague because I always worry that if I do open up to someone, it will only be a matter of time before they realize they can to better too. Thankfully for JT, Seth really loves him; he just needs to wake up and realize that. As for me, I too will need to realize that once I find a Seth of my own.

Anyway, like I said, this book is high on my list for this year because in so many ways, I felt like JT was a character I could really, truly relate to. Drag Teen is a hilarious book, with a rich cast of characters and some situations that can border a little on farfetched, but it’s all in good fun. Be sure to check it out if you haven’t already.

Check back tomorrow for my #1 book of 2016, as well as a few honourable mentions!

One thought on “2016 Top Ten: #2, Drag Teen

  1. Pingback: 2016 Top Ten: The Complete List and Some Honourable Mentions | Queering the Mainstream

Leave a Reply

