2016 Top Ten: The Complete List and Some Honourable Mentions

top10twoI’ve spent the month of December so far counting down my Top Ten picks for the best LGBTQ+ books of 2016–the best of the ones I read, at least.

Here’s the complete list:

 

And a few honourable mentions (alphabetical by author last name):

  • Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown
  • Boy Robot by Simon Curtis
  • The Great American Whatever by Tim Federle
  • Draw the Line by Laurent Linn
  • True Letters from a Fictional Life by Kenneth Logan
  • As I Descended by Robin Talley

Some LGBTQ+ YA books I missed this year (a.k.a. books that could have potentially made this list had I gotten around to reading them–my TBR list is miles long):

  • Look Both Ways by Alison Cherry
  • Gena/Finn by Hannah Moskowitz and Kat Helgeson
  • Seven Ways We Lie by Riley Redgate
  • Last Seen Leaving by Caleb Roehrig
  • Beast by Brie Spangler

A non-YA honourable mention (more of a middle-grade book, but is also incredible):

  • George by Alex Gino

Finally, some extra special mentions (a.k.a. three of my favourite books that I read in 2016, but they were all advanced copies that won’t be published until 2017, so they don’t really count yet. Keep an eye out, though–they could make my Top Ten next year!):

top10Finally, an extra special shoutout to all of the incredible authors mentioned on this list. Recently on Twitter, Adam Silvera described Becky Albertalli’s Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda as a book he needed at 16, but was damn happy to have at 26.

I feel very much the same. LGBTQ+ YA is so important and I just love these books so much. Being able to read them and talk about them means so much to me. These are books I wish I’d had as a teen, so I will never stop reading them, and sharing them because you never know when a teen who needs to hear about them might be reading.

Here’s to all the amazing LGBTQ+ YA coming in 2017!

Leave a Reply

